Reading War and Peace

Abagond

This week I am getting all my news from RT. To go along with that, I am reading only Russian books. SoI started reading Tolstoy’s “War and Peace” (1868). So far “War and Peace” is way better than RT.

It is supposed to be one of the best books ever written but I had been put off by its length. I found that I am not alone on that one. The Penguin paperback runs 1,444 pages! And on top of that I am a slow reader, reading at about half the average speed. But then, come to think of it, I read Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings” without batting an eye and that is over 1,000 pages. And I have read the Bible, which is about 1,900 pages.

The trick to reading a long book is to read a bit of it every day. “War and Peace”…

View original post 395 more words

Leave a Reply

